Vegetarian-Friendly Restaurant of the Week: Habanita, Sevilla, Spain

20141224_135805

Habanita, Sevilla

  Throughout my year and a half living in Europe, I’ve been to several vegetarian-friendly restaurants in Spain and beyond. While some of them were not very impressive, others left me very content and wanting to go back for more. I want to share these delicious meals with you, my readers, so I’m going to start a new feature on my blog about the best vegetarian-friendly restaurants I’ve been to. The first restaurant I’m going to write about is Habanita in Seville, Spain.

I’ve decided to use the word “vegetarian-friendly” instead of just “vegetarian” because not all of the restaurants are 100% vegetarian, which is the case with Habanita. As you may be able to tell by the name, Habanita is a Cuban restaurant with a variety of vegan, vegetarian and meat dishes, thus making it a great restaurant for both vegetarians/vegans and meat-eaters alike.

If you click on the link above, you can find their menu in English, French and Spanish. As you’ll see, they have a variety of salads, egg dishes, Caribbean food, fish, meat, vegetarian dishes, drinks and desserts. The options are endless. This made deciding on what to eat when I was there quite a challenge. Unfortunately, they did not have the traditional Spanish menú-del-dia which allows you to have a starter, an entree, a dessert and a drink. So, I had to order a few separate dishes.

20141224_140249

Fresh mango juice

I decided to start with a drink, some fresh mango juice.

Since it was Christmas Eve and I was to go to Rota to see my brother on the military base shortly, I figured I wouldn’t have as many vegetarian choices for a while. So, I decided to treat myself to three different items on the menu.

20141224_140415

Arepas

   I started out with arepas, which are cornmeal rolls that are popular around South and Central America. I ordered two different kinds of arepas: one with black beans and the other with zucchini, tomato and corn.

20141224_141146

Fufú con frijoles negros

For my next dish, I decided to order fufú with black beans au gratinFufú is a staple food made of mashed bananas that is popular in many countries in Africa and the Caribbean. Although warm, mashed bananas with black beans and melted Emmental cheese did sound a little strange to me at first, this ended up being my favorite dish. I liked it so much that I’m going to try to make it at home sometime.

20141224_142744

Croquetas veganas

I was still a little hungry after the fufú, so I got one more dish: vegan croquettes. I did not want a full portion of 8 croquettes and, fortunately, the waiter was nice enough to bring me a smaller plate of 5 croquettes. The vegan croquettes were filled with sun dried tomatoes, basil and walnuts and covered in breadcrumbs. They were a tasty way to end my meal at Habanita.

I highly recommend Habanita to anyone visiting Seville because of the variety of dishes and the quality of the food. You will definitely not leave disappointed and, like me, you’ll probably want to go back and try more.

*The restaurant was not very crowded when I went because it was Christmas Eve. However, if you are planning to be in Seville on a weekend, I’d recommend making a reservation because it has a tendency to get packed. For more information, you can check out their website.

 

2 thoughts on “Vegetarian-Friendly Restaurant of the Week: Habanita, Sevilla, Spain

  1. The best to date.We are in TUCSON . Lots of versions of Spanish foods , MEXICAN, PEruvian, S.A.Cuban wonder if it will be the same as end had in HAbana? We are going to have Chinese to celebrate the year of the goat. Hiking, visiting, touring mines and a cave, very different from ones we have seen. This is my first attempt on my cell phone. So wonderful to keep up with your adventures. Love.G, mama and Hank

    B

Leave a Reply

